Mākaro Press is a publisher in Aotearoa New Zealand. We take our name from Mākaro Ward Island which is in Wellington harbour just across from Eastbourne – our tūrangawaewae, the place we stand, and where we began publishing in 2013.

The story goes that Mākaro and Matiu were the nieces of the great explorer Kupe, travelling with him from Hawaiki to New Zealand in the tenth century. He named the two Wellington harbour islands after them. Little is known of these women but we think of them as being – like all exceptional travellers – imaginative, curious and courageous. Perfect touchstones for publishing in the digital era.

We publish NZ fiction, poetry and creative memoir – including books for children and young adults. All of these feature in our first Mākaro book Eastbourne, an anthology launched December 2013. Our HOOPLA poetry series was launched on our first birthday in March 2014 with three outstanding poets, and the second trio launched in April 2015. We also have a growing number of poets in our slim Submarine Poetry editions.

Our first adult fiction titles were launched this year: Janis Freegard’s The Year of Falling, and Maggie Rainey-Smith’s Daughters of Messene, and we continue to publish non-fiction that takes our fancy, such as David Cohen’s Greatest Hits and Peter Godfrey, the Father of New Zealand Choral Music by Elizabeth Salmon.

The Submarine imprint includes fiction and non-fiction, and successful young adult books: the award-winning The Book of Hat by Harriet Rowland and The Red Suitcase by Jill Harris, and Denis Wright’s Nanotech. 

The imprint name Submarine comes from the submarine boom built between Mākaro Island and Eastbourne in WWII to stop submarines entering the harbour. It also provided an excellent bridge to the island for the nimble of foot.

Publisher Mary McCallum and assistant publisher Paul Stewart
at the NZ Book Awards for Children and Young Adults 2015 at
Government House.